I Expected A Little More…

If you’ve been listening to the radio or watching TV, then surely you know about the Katy Perry flap on Sesame Street. The issue centers around her outfit. I have to say, after seeing the pictures of the ample popstars outfit, I have to agree. It’s a lot of boobie for first thing in the morning. And while I don’t consider myself a prude, I do think it’s not appropriate for kids or for Sesame Street in general. If you want your kids looking at sexed up actresses or singers, there are a million other ways to do that. MTV for one. Sesame Street means safety, appropriateness, rated G. I’m surprised that they put her in such an outfit. It wasn’t safe, appropriate or rated G. I think they made the right move pulling the duet. I think the wardrobe department needs a reminder of who their audience is. (And just a hint, it’s not the mommies or the daddies!).

What do you think? Was it too much for Sesame Street? Did they do the right thing? Or is that what parenting is for? To say “that’s inappropriate for my child” and turn the TV off? Or maybe a little of both?

See for yourself. Video from YouTube

http://www.youtube.com/v/OAz4MKHhovQ?fs=1&hl=en_US&border=1

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

