Are We Over Snacking Our Kids?

How funny that I saw this Twitter post right after I posted about the healthy preschool snacks. When did snacks become the enemy? Isn’t the idea of a snack to help ward off starvation until the next mealtime? To give a little energy boost in the afternoon? I’m sure kid get hungry around 3:00 or even get the 2/3 o’clock slump. This is an interesting article at any rate. Makes you think. And I like articles that make me think.

Taken from healthland.time.com

Are We Oversnacking Our Kids?

By Matt Gross/DadWagon.com Thursday, December 2, 2010 | 86 comments
Peace and quiet on the F train, thanks to a lollipop.

Yesterday, I thought I was being really smart. In the late afternoon, I’d happened into a chic, newish Park Slope coffee shop, Venticinque, and as I was ordering a little pick-me-up, I spotted something on the counter: chocolate-chip cookies, $1 apiece.

Now, I wasn’t particularly hungry, but they might be just the thing to give to my 2-year-old daughter, Sasha, when I picked her up from daycare in an hour. Three stops on the subway may not seem like much, but that kid can get jumpy and cranky fast. A cookie, however unhealthful, could keep her occupied. Maybe. (More on Time.com: “Mompetition”: Why You Just Can’t Make Mom Friends)

An hour or so later, I sat her on my lap on the F train, reached into my pocket and pulled out the cookie, only slightly melted from my body heat. Sasha grew excited as I unwrapped its plastic sheath, and when she bit in and smiled, I felt vindicated. That is, until she spit out the chocolate chips, or rather let them dribble out of her mouth and down the front of her jacket. I sighed and tried to scoop up (and eat) the crumbs. Another snack time, another failure.

But that’s what I’ve come to expect in the ongoing struggle to keep my child happy, healthy and well-fed. Mealtimes are one thing, but snacks are proving a particularly trying subject for me, as they apparently do for all parents. What do you give kids? When? Why? (More on Time.com: Do Parents Discriminate Against Their Own Chubby Children?

Read more:http://healthland.time.com/2010/12/02/are-we-oversnacking-our-kids/#ixzz17SLSv3cQ

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

