One Mom’s Wishes For 2011

We are wishing everyone the most joyous fun ringing in the new year. May you gather your friends and family close and celebrate (and reflect) the close of another year. While it may not have fulfilled all our wishes, we are still here and ready to ring in the next one. Maybe in 2011 you will reach some of those “leftover” goals and meet some new ones. Whatever you want, 2011 is a blank slate.

Here are some of my wishes and goals for 2011:

  1. Employment. Or a paycheck at least. Some of you may be aware that I was downsized over 2 years ago. Unemployment kept us afloat and life was pretty darn good for those 2 years. Now, unemployment has come to an end and leaves me wondering what exactly 2011 will hold. I’m hoping to find something where I can work in the evenings and still be home with my daughter during the day. I have cherished (mostly!) the time I’ve been home with her and losing that would make me very sad. I’m not too proud…WalMart, Target, here I come!
  2. Yell Less. I think I did quite well during the 1 week no yelling challenge. I did pretty good the 2nd week as well. Maybe even part of the 3rd week too. And then, I don’t know when it all went down hill but the yelling/loud voice is back. And I don’t like it. I don’t like what it says about me as a person/mom and what effect it is having on my family.
  3. Lose Weight. I know, everyone says that when January 1 rolls around. But it’s been something on my mind for over a year now. I want to be a good example for my daughter. I want her to eat right and be active, and how can I expect her to be those things if I am not? I don’t want to be a walking example of do as I say and not as I do. When I met my husband, I was about 80 pounds thinner. I looked DAMN good. I felt EVEN BETTER than DAMN good!! Now, I avoid mirrors. HATE having my picture taken (do I really look like that? EEK!) My daughter is going to look back on the first 3 years of her life in pictures and wonder if she had a mom. I live in a lake community where bathing suits are essentially your daily uniform. I like to sit in the lake and “hide” in the water (okay, and it’s cooling too on 100 degree days). Oh, and did I mention I do marketing/pr for a health and fitness company on the side? Lord, I feel like a sham artist doing this. I mean, when it comes to marketing, I know my poop and I know I can help her. But it just feels “wrong” somehow.

That’s it. I’m going to start with three. They are a pretty big three in my eyes. You know, if in 12 months I can say I accomplished each of those 3 things, then I’ll be pretty freaking proud!

What do you want 2011 to look like?? I hope you spend a few minutes figuring it out and writing it down. Best of luck and many blessing in the new year! Slante!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

