HELP: Games For Preschoolers

Sigh. I just purchased 2 games, and to put it nicely, they are horrible. My 3-year-old got bored in 6 seconds. The first was I Spy preschool edition. I’m not sure WHAT child would be challenged by this. My 3-year-old certainly wasn’t. Maybe a year ago…might I suggest it for 2 year olds? So, then I made the mistake of buying I Spy Eagle Eye which said for 5-year-old (ya know, my kid is s-m-a-r-t!! LOL). Well, that stunk too. So now I have 2 brand new games that got 1 minute total playing time before I heard “are we done yet?”. I’m taking them back. Yes, opened. With a receipt. They can fight with me if the want, but at $18 a pop, they are giving me my money back.

Candyland make me want to poke my eyes out with the gingerbread men. Chutes and Ladders is okay. Break the Ice. UGH. Who invents a game where it takes 2x as long to set up then it does to play? Getting all those “ice cubes” in the square is a pain in my tushie!! Dislike. And we have Memory. That’s okay. I can deal.

On the plus side, we received an adorable game that I don’t mind playing: Bendomino, Jr. Love it, but like anything, after the 100th time… it’s why we’re after something new.

So, my question to all you readers: what games to you ACTUALLY enjoy playing with your kids? I’d say recommend anything from 3 years old on up. Always looking for ideas for the future. Cooties? Yes? No? What else have you got? HELP!!!!!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “HELP: Games For Preschoolers

  1. Jen

    ‎”Cranium Cariboo Treasure Island” is THE BEST game to play with your 2-5 year olds. My son loves this game (he has had it since he was 2) and always asks me to play it with him. The only thing is the old version of this game is better made than the new one sold at Toys r us. You can still find the old one on Ebay for about 25 bucks. Its well worth it though!
    New one
    http://www.amazon.com/Cranium-16576-Cariboo-Island/dp/B0028Y4RAU
    Old one
    http://www.buzzillions.com/reviews/kids-worldwide-cranium-cariboo-a-magical-treasure-hunt-game-1-ea-reviews

Leave a Reply

