What To Do With All That Artwork?

If you have a child old enough to go to school, or daycare, then you know all about the overwhelming amount of art projects they do. Don’t get me wrong. I’m a crafty mama, and I love that my daughter is doing so many great and creative things. But what to do with them all? I sadly, have been saving most everythin.g She has a pretty fabric covered box under her bed that stuff goes in for the year. Artwork. Cards. Teacher reports. Etc. Then, at the end of the year,  I buy a cheap artist portfolio at my local craft store and put it all in there. Write the year on the front and tape closed. It goes in a bin in the attic. Not sure what condition it will be in years down the road, but that’s my method.

Marie, from Make and Takes has some other advice to share on what to do with all those projects.

I recently wrote an article over at Momformation about the guilt you might feel about keeping or tossing out your child’s artwork, part of their Guilt-Free Week series. I want to expand on a few more thoughts, sharing what I do to manage the school work, projects, and crafts that my kids produce.

At our house, we showcase their artwork and school work on the fridge. It’s right there where everyone can see, it makes the room colorful, and I love to see what they’ve accomplished. I also think it makes my kids feel proud of something they did and let’s them know I acknowledge their work. So we’ve created a little system on the refrigerator. It’s our “wall o’ work”, as most of the things the kids bring home from school or the crafts we produce at home get put on the fridge.

Out of the kid’s backpacks, I go through each paper and project and pick out the “fridge” worthy items. Everything else, gets put in the recycle bin or trash, no hard feelings, or guilt! The kids are happy as they still get to see things displayed and I’m happy that we’re able to find a home for everything.

Continue reading by clicking HERE.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “What To Do With All That Artwork?

  1. jengd

    Take good photos of it all, upload to a site like Shutterfly or Snapfish, and make a coffeetable book of the ones you want to remember. It may not be the cheapest method but they frequently offer photo book coupons and they’ll last forever this way.

Leave a Reply

